INEC de-registers 74 political parties, see reasons

On Thursday, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) de-registered 74 political parties in Nigeria.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu disclosed this today at a news conference in Abuja. Nigeria in total has 92 political parties registered.

"The political parties were de-registered because of their failure to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections,"  Yakubu said.

With the new move by INEC, Nigeria now officially has 18 registered political parties.