Biden ends Trump's travel ban on Majority-Muslim Countries

On the first day in office, President Joe Biden have signed series of executive order(s) dismantling policies of Donald Trump administration on immigration.

Biden issues an executive order to end Trump’s controversial travel ban on non-citizens from 13 nations.

Recall that, in Trump's first week in office in 2017, he implemented the "Muslim Ban" which restricted travel from so many countries.

When the ban was announced, it resulted in mass protests in airports across the US where people from the affected countries, which were initially limited to those with majority-Muslim populations, were held for questioning for hours. 

The ban was amended several times in the face of numerous court challenges arguing that Trump did not have the legal authority to issue it and that it unlawfully discriminated against Muslims. 

The third version of the ban, ultimately upheld by the Supreme Court, barred citizens of seven countries like Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Iraq, and Sudan, from obtaining any kind of visas, largely preventing them from entering the US.

In February 2020, Trump later expanded the ban to include additional restrictions on citizens of six more countries, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. 
While they could still visit the US, citizens of these countries were, for the most part, barred from settling in the US permanently. 

Ending the ban was one of Biden’s top-line campaign promises on immigration policy and he is about to deliver. 

He directed the State Department to restart immigration visa processing for individuals from the affected countries and to develop ways to address the harm caused to those who were prevented from coming to United States because of the ban.


Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top