We're Happy you are back! Strenuous blog!

UEFA to sanction nine Super League clubs over breakaway

UEFA on Friday said Nine of the 12 Super League clubs who formally renounced the breakaway and committed to the existing European competitions has been sanctioned with financial punishment.

UEFA said they will have to give up 5% of UEFA revenue for one season as a punishment for the rebellion that briefly split football. 

But Barcelona, Real Madrid and Juventus have refused to approve what UEFA on Friday called (reintegration measures) and they will be referred to UEFA disciplinary bodies for sanctions, meaning they could be banned from the Champions League. 

The Super League project was initiated three weeks ago after the English clubs - Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City and Tottenham backed. 

The Premier League clubs along with Atletico Madrid, AC Milan and Inter Milan have officially signed up to a settlement with UEFA to participate only in the existing open European competitions. 

According to them, the nine clubs will make a combined payment of 15 million euros ($18 million) for what UEFA called a "gesture of goodwill'' to benefit children, youth and grassroots football. 

They have also accepted UEFA withholding 5% of revenue for the next season they play in their club competitions. 

The clubs have also agreed to be fined 100 million euros if they seek again to play in an unauthorized competition or 50 million euros if they breach any other commitments to UEFA as part of the settlement.

Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect Strenuousblog.com's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top