Covid-19: FG extends travel ban on Brazil, Turkey, India by 4 weeks, adds South Africa

The federal government of Nigeria has added South Africa to the list of countries restricted for travellers. 

The Federal Government, also announced the extension of the ban on flights from Brazil, Turkey and India by 4 weeks. 

Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation (SGF) made the announcement on Monday June 28.

He disclosed that the federal government extended restrictions to travellers from Brazil, Turkey, and India for another four weeks. 

Mustapha said; "The four major variants of concern are now classified as Alpha (UK), Beta (SA), Gamma (Brazil) and Delta (India). 

"The Delta variant which has wreaked devastating havoc is not yet found in Nigeria hence the need to tighten our borders and be more vigilant. 

"The WHO Country Representative and the DG NCDC will elaborate on this and the measures for mitigating a potential third wave. 

"A few weeks ago, we announced additional measures to be met by passengers arriving from Brazil, Turkey and India. 

"This action was due to the prevalence of variants of concern and the dangers associated with the importation of such virulent strain," he added. 

"The PSC has been reviewing these restrictions and is of the opinion that they should remain for another four weeks before it is further reviewed. 

"South Africa has, however, been added to this category once more." 

The decision was taken due to the surge in the country’s COVID-19 cases. 

Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top