CAF to award €4.5 million to AFCON champions


The 2021 African Football Confederation (AFCON) will be held in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6.

The Confederation of African Football has announced that the winners of the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations will receive €4.5 million.

After a great run in Egypt in 2019, 24 countries will compete in the biannual competition for the second time.

The African football governing body has set a prize pool of €4.5 million for the winners of the competition in Cameroon, with €2.64 million for the runners-up.

Third-place playoff winners will receive the same €2.2 million as semi-finalists, while quarter-finalists will receive €703,361.

In the meantime, each of the 24 countries that entered the tournament will earn a minimum of €534,000 in prize money.

Patrice Motsepe, the CAF president, indicated during the continental championship drawings in Yaounde, Cameroon last year that the prize money will be increased from €3.9 million.

Motsepe said, "We want to increase the prize money and we are in discussions with sponsors because we have to show the world that African football is as good and amongst the best in the world.

"One of the things we want to do is to provide on top of the prize money which will be won by the winning nation, is to put aside prize money so that the nation that wins the AFCON next year, there is prize money that will go to the players so that we’ll not experience the problems we’ve had in the past.

"Players are demotivated when they qualify because they don’t know how much they will earn by way of bonuses. We are working on those things."

Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top