Senate confirms seven nominees as INEC commissioners, Full List


The Senate has confirmed seven nominations for National Commissioners and Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, as nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Following the examination of a report by the Senate Committee on INEC, the nominees were confirmed on Wednesday.

Mal. Mohammed Haruna (Niger – North-Central, National Commissioner); Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta – South-South, National Commissioner); Ukeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia – South-East, National Commissioner); and Major General A. B. Alkali (Rtd) – Adamawa are among those who have been confirmed (North-East, National Commissioner).

Prof. Rhoda H. Gumus (Bayelsa – South-South, National Commissioner), Mr. Sam Olumekun (Ondo – South-West, National Commissioner), and Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo – South-West, Resident Commissioner) were also present.

Senator Kabiru Gaya, the Chairman of the Committee, stated in his presentation that President Muhammadu Buhari made the request for confirmation in accordance with Section 153(1)(f) of the Constitution and Section 154(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999. (as amended).

Senator Kabiru Gaya, the Committee's Chairman, stated that President Muhammadu Buhari made the appointment in accordance with Section 153(1)(f) of the Constitution.

The nomination began in Taraba (2003–2008), Adamawa (2008–2015), and Gombe (2015–2021), according to Gaya of the Taraba Elders Forum.

He went on to say that the National Assembly would work with the electoral authority to achieve free and fair elections in 2023.

INEC also receives money from the National Assembly, therefore it has no reason not to carry out its mandate. As a result, Nigerians anticipate that INEC would perform admirably.


Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top