CAF Award 2022: Sadio Mane wins 2022 African Player of the Year


Sadio Mane, a former striker for Liverpool, has been named African Footballer of the Year for the second consecutive year.

In the voting, Mane triumphed over Senegalese Edouard Mendy and Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah former Liverpool teammate.

He received the trophy on Thursday, July 22, at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards ceremony in Rabat, Morocco.

"I am very, very happy to receive the trophy this year," Mane, 30, said as he collected his prize.

"I thank the Senegalese people, and dedicate this trophy to the youth of my country."

Read More: 'I Can Never Support Igbo Presidency, Let Tinubu Take It' - Dave Umahi

In the Women’s category, Super Falcons and Barcelona striker, Asisat Oshoala beat Grace Chanda (Zambia/BIIK Kazygurt) and Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon/Inter Milan) to win African Women’s Player of the Year Award for fifth record.

She beat out former Falcons striker Perpetua Nkwocha by winning the prize five times in a row. In 2014, 2016, 2017, and 2019, Oshoala triumphed.

"I have five today, five! It's a record-breaking night for me, as an individual, and for Africa as a whole!" Oshoala shouted.

"The 2021–22 season was incredibly difficult for me personally, and I want to thank everyone who supported me.

A player who managed to score despite a protracted injury layoff said, "If you don't fall, you don't know the power of comeback and what comeback means."

Oshoala gave her award to the Super Falcons of Nigeria, applauding the group for their perseverance in playing over an hour with two women on the field despite losing the Women's Africa Cup of Nations (Wafcon) semi-final on penalties on Monday, July 18.


Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Player of the Year (Men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Coach of the Year (Men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men): Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men): Senegal

Goal of the Year: Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal/ Simba FC)

Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top