#NigeriaElections2023: INEC declares Tinubu winner of presidential election

Bola Tinubu, the presidential candidate for the All Progressives Congress, has been recognized as the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission. 

After receiving 8,794,726 votes to win the 2023 presidential election, Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State, was named the new president. 

In the International Collation Centre in Abuja in the wee hours of Wednesday, INEC Chairman Professor Mahmood Yakubu declared Tinubu the winner.

Tinubu defeated rivals Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, Peter Obi of the Labour Party, and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party.

In addition to Tinubu, Obi, Atiku, and Kwankwaso, other contenders for the presidency of the country included Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress, Kola Abiola of the People's Redemption Party, Omoyele Sowore of the Africa Action Congress, Adewole Adebayo of the Social Democratic Party, Malik Ado-Ibrahim of the Young Progressive Party, Prof. Christopher Imumulen of the Accord Party,
Sani Yusuf, Action Democratic Party; Nnnadi Osita, Action Peoples Party; Oluwafemi Adenuga, Boot Party; Osakwe Felix Johnson, National Rescue Movement; and Nwanyanwu Daniel Daberechukwu, Zenith Labour Party are also on the list. Hamza Al-Mustapha, Action Alliance.

Tinubu, Shettima get certificate of return Wednesday INEC Boss Yakubu

At the International Collation Center in Abuja, Tinubu's victory was declared by INEC Chairman Professor Mahmood Yakubu.

He stated that the commission will present the certificate of return to the President-elect, Bola Tinubo, and Vice President-Elect, Kashim Shettima, on Wednesday. 

The move is to allow the commission to have ample time to plan for the governorship election billed for March 11. 

The Commission will issue a statement later today on when the ceremony for senators and House of Representatives members-elect would hold.


Post a Comment


Disclaimer: Comments and opinions on any part of this website are the opinions of blog commenters or anonymous individuals, and do not reflect's position.

Post a Comment

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top