BREAKING: Akpabio elected Senate President

Godswill Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom State, has been chosen Senate President of the Tenth Assembly.

The All Progressives Congress has chosen Akpabio as its candidate. The voting for a new Senate President had begun, with Akpabio and Senator-elect Abdulazeez Yari, the former Governor of Zamfara State, going toe to toe.

After a brief recess, Sani Tambuwal, the Clerk of the National Assembly, declared Akpabio the Senate President, with 63 votes to his rival's 46.

After the Clerk of the National Assembly called for nominations, the senator-elect for Borno South, Ali Ndume, nominated Godswill Akpabio, senator-elect for Akwa Ibom North-East, as President of the Senate. Akpabio accepted the nomination; while Elisha Abbo, senator-elect for Adamawa North, nominated Abdulaziz Yari, senator-elect for Zamfara West.

After the lawmakers cast their votes in alphabetical order, two representatives of each team came to count their votes.

Senators Adeola Solomon and Ndume came out to represent Senator Akpabio, while Abbo and the senator-elect representing Ondo South Senatorial District, Jimoh Ibrahim, represented Senator Yari.


#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top