Incumbent Governor Douye Diri Wins Bayelsa State Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the incumbent Governor, Senator Douye Diri, as the winner of the governorship election held in Bayelsa State on November 11, 2023. 

The announcement was made by the State Returning Officer, Prof. Kuta Farouk, at the INEC Media Centre in Yenagoa, Bayelsa.

Governor Diri, representing the People's Democratic Party (PDP), secured victory in six out of the eight local government areas of the state. His closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), won in only two LGAs.

The LGAs won by Governor Diri include Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw, while Timipre Sylva of the APC claimed victory in Nembe and Brass LGAs.


#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(1)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !
To Top